Home Baseball The Winners of the 2023 Rawlings Platinum Glove Awards: Defensive Players and Teams Revealed

The Winners of the 2023 Rawlings Platinum Glove Awards: Defensive Players and Teams Revealed

by americanosportscom

4:39 AM UTC

Fernando Tatis Jr. and Andrés Giménez Win Rawlings Platinum Glove Awards

The fans have spoken and the top defensive players and teams of the 2023 season have been decided.

Tatis Jr. Makes History as First Right Fielder to Win Platinum Glove

After overcoming a series of challenges, Padres outfielder Fernando Tatis Jr. has emerged as the winner of the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award in ’23. Tatis, who missed the entire 2022 season due to injuries and a PED suspension, made a remarkable transition from shortstop to right field this year. His seamless adjustment to the new position earned him this prestigious accolade. Tatis finished second among outfielders in Defensive Runs Saved (+27) and Ultimate Zone Rating (+12.3), tied for third in outfield assists (12), and tied for seventh in Outs Above Average (+9).

Giménez Becomes First Second Baseman to Win Platinum Glove

Andrés Giménez, the Guardians’ second baseman, has made history by becoming the first player in his position to win a Platinum Glove. Joining Francisco Lindor (2016) as the only Cleveland player to receive this honor, the 25-year-old ranked third in the Majors with 18 Outs Above Average and third with 23 Defensive Runs Saved, trailing only Tatis and Daulton Varsho (+29).

Blue Jays and Brewers Dominate Team Defense

The Toronto Blue Jays have been voted as the top defense in the American League, while the Milwaukee Brewers claim the title in the National League. Toronto led all defenses with 85 Defensive Runs Saved (DRS) and ranked in the top 10 for both Ultimate Zone Rating (UZR) (+29.6) and Outs Above Average (OAA) (+10). On the other hand, the Brewers excelled in OAA (+40) and UZR (+39.2), leading the Majors, and finished second in DRS (+68).

Platinum Glove Awards: Fan-Driven Recognition

The Platinum Glove Awards, introduced in 2011, are still relatively new and are determined by the fans. Each season, fans vote for the top defensive players among the Gold Glove Award winners. This year’s results mark the end of Nolan Arenado’s six-year reign as the consecutive NL winner, while the American League has seen a different recipient for the past five years.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment